Configuration files

To run analyses in TrustInSoft CI, a configuration is required for the GitHub repository to analyze. This configuration can:

  • either be written in the Project settings page (in the Build configuration section) (and is called a Global configuration),

  • or be committed with files in the GitHub repository inside a .trustinsoft/ directory at the root of the repository (and is called a Committed configuration).

This configuration includes:

While set-upping a project, you will have to chose between using a Global configuration (written in the Project settings page) or a Committed configuration (committed in the .trustinsoft/directory of the GitHub repository), according to the following advantages and disadvantages:

Global configuration

Committed configuration

Easy set-up without updating your repository

Requires to modify your repository by committing files

Common to all branches, tags, and pull requests

Each branch, tag or pull request can have its own unique configuration

Replaying a build will use the current global configuration (and not the one used for the build)

Replaying a build will use the same configuration of the associated commit

The Analyses configuration can be generated during the Build preparation stage

In simple words, if you need to have a different configuration for several branches, tags or pull requests, a Committed configuration should be chosen. Otherwise, a Global configuration should be enough to set-up your project.

A single project can use both a Global configuration and a Committed configuration.

In this case, when a build is run, if a .trustinsoft/directory exists for the commit associated to this build, then the Committed configuration is used (and the Global configuration is completely ignored). Otherwise the Global configuration is used.

A single build cannot used a mixed of a Global configuration and a Committed configuration.

Each build indicates whether it is using a Global configuration or a Committed configuration.